New Work Injury Report Requirements From OSHA

Posted on May 14, 2016

The United States Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) released new requirements for work injury and illness reporting. The final rule requires employers in certain industries to submit work-related injury and illness data electronically. The data helps isolate and address the causes of injuries. The requirement for certain employers to report is not new, but the way the data is collected and used has changed. All records will be publicly viewable. OSHA's news release states that regulators hope making the data easily accessible to the public will prompt many employers to make safer workplaces so that they can avoid being viewed as an unsafe work environment undesirable to workers.

Employers with 250 or more workers who must comply with the new requirements include those in "high-risk" industries, such as:

  • Skilled nursing
  • Manufacturing
  • General freight trucking
  • Warehousing
  • Waste collection
  • Construction
  • And many more. See the full list of industries.


Qualifying employers must comply with the new injury reporting requirements in less than a year. The rule takes effect August 10, 2016 and data submissions commence in early 2017.

Aside from an employer's work hazard reporting obligations, the injured workers themselves have their own injury report process. To start the workers' compensation process in North Carolina, the worker must follow a few steps, some of which involve reporting the injury or illness to the employer as well as the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Workers shouldn't wait too long to report their condition. North Carolina has a two-year statute of limitations for work injuries. If you're concerned about qualifying for benefits and properly reporting your injury - request a free case review with one of our Raleigh workers' comp lawyers. You can complete the form at the prior link or call 877-BRENT-ADAMS.