New Penalties for Amusement Ride Accidents
Posted on Dec 02, 2015
Yesterday on December 1, 2015, a new law went into effect that imposes penalties on individuals who tamper with the safety controls of amusement rides.
Lawmakers were prompted to review and amend North Carolina laws and regulations surrounding amusement rides after a number of accidents occurred over the years at the North Carolina State Fair. Our injury attorneys reviewed one of the major accidents in an earlier post: The Vortex ride accident that involved workers who allegedly bypassed a safety system to keep the ride running.
Under the new law, recorded as House Bill 39, individuals will be guilty of a felony if they willfully violate the new provisions and their violation results in injury to another person. A number of fines were amended. These fines include:
- The daily fine for operating without a certificate rose from $250 to $1,250 per rule violation.
- The daily fine for operating a ride after refusing to furnish a copy of insurance proof increased from $500 to $2,500.
- The daily fine imposed on parties that operate an unsafe ride has been increased from $500 to $2,500.
- The daily fine also increased for individuals who operate a ride while impaired, rising from $1,000 to $5,000.
The new provisions apply to accidents that occur on or after December 1, 2015.