Moped Insurance and Registration Laws in NC
Mopeds in North Carolina must be registered and display a valid license plate as of July 1, 2015 and carry minimum liability insurance as of July 1, 2016. Individuals who own and operate a moped without a valid license plate are illegally operating these vehicles.
As of this writing, the registration fee is $18 and minimum liability insurance requirements are $30,000/$60,000/$25,000.
What does North Carolina identify as a moped? Any low-powered cycle, scooter, or other vehicle that:
- Does not have a motor more than 50 cubic centimeters
- Cannot exceed speeds of 30 MPH
If the vehicle exceeds the size and speed noted above, it is required by state law to be registered and insured as a motorcycle.
North Carolina does not require moped drivers to have a valid driver license, but they must be age 16 or older and helmets are required for the driver and passenger.*
Moped insurance is not only required by law in North Carolina, but it helps provide compensation when individuals are involved in a moped accident. Otherwise, their options are limited and costly. Moped drivers and passengers who were injured due to the negligence of another driver could pursue the at-fault driver's insurance coverage for compensation for their injuries, damages, and losses. However, not all motor vehicle operators follow the law and maintain insurance coverage. Under these circumstances the victim would need to file a lawsuit against the uninsured driver, which might place liens on the at-fault party's assets, including real property they might own. If the moped operator maintains their own insurance, as required by law, then they have some benefits they could possibly draw on.
If you were involved in a North Carolina moped accident and are concerned about how liability is determined in your accident, contact one of the injury attorneys in Raleigh and Cary with our firm for a free case review. All consultations are confidential and we can meet in one of our offices, in your home, or at a hospital where you or a loved one might be recovering. Post-accident medical treatment is critical and we are mindful and respectful of the challenges accident victims manage.
*Note: All regulations noted above are as of July 2016. As is the nature with legislation, laws may change over time. Individuals should do their due diligence to learn current state traffic laws, either by checking with the NCDOT, NCDMV or by contacting a car accident attorney.