Critical Paperwork Needed for NC Workers' Comp Claims
Injured workers face three challenges. One, recovering from their injury. Two, understanding North Carolina workers' compensation laws. The third challenge is paperwork. What documents will an injured worker need to process their workers' compensation claim properly and timely? Our workers' comp lawyers in Raleigh understand how daunting this process can be for a person who is unfamiliar with regulatory documents and is focusing their energy to manage their physical injury.
To make the claim process a little easier for those who were hurt at work, our attorneys created a Workers' Compensation Document Library. At the previous link you will find a few dozen resources providing detailed information regarding workers' comp death benefits, statute of limitations for work injuries, circumstances that entitle the worker to additional benefits, and more. Additionally, our legal team developed an abbreviated directory below of important documents necessary for processing a workers' comp claim in North Carolina. Our workers' comp lawyers also provide a link to a copy of each form provided by the Industrial Commission:
Form 18. Due within 2 years from the date of the accident. If this document is not submitted to the North Carolina Industrial Commission within the specified timeframe, the work injury claim will not be eligible for workers' compensation benefits. Learn more about the Form 18.
Form 18B. Specialized document for individuals suffering lung disease as a result of causative exposure at work.
Form 18M. This form is used by some workers who were accidentally injured or developed an occupational illness after July 4, 1994 who might be eligible for additional medical compensation.
Form 25P. All drugs purchased that are related to the workers' comp injury must be documented on this form.
Form 25T. Sometimes an injured worker is unable to find adequate medical treatment near home and they are required to travel for treatment. In these cases, the claimant receives a mileage reimbursement for all travel that amounts to 20 miles or more (round-trip). The reimbursement value adjusts over time. As of this writing, the rate is $0.575/mile for the 2015 tax year.
Form 31. This form is required in the event a worker accepts a lump sum award.
Form 33. A worker who has been denied benefits can request a hearing through this form.
Before completing any of the forms above, an individual who was hurt or developed an illness through work should read about the first three steps to starting the workers' comp benefits process. A consultation with a workers' comp lawyer can help ensure documents are completed properly and by each of their respective deadlines.