Q I have a moped in North Carolina, do I need to have insurance?
Yes, as of July 1, 2016 all moped owners are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage with limits no less than $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Learn about moped registration requirements.
Moped insurance in North Carolina is required and failing to maintain adequate coverage results in revocation of the license plate. Aside from regulatory fines and consequences, without insurance coverage, an individual involved in a moped accident could face significant financial loss. If the moped operator is hit by an uninsured driver - who will cover bills if injuries prevent the moped driver or passenger from working? If another party suffered damage or injury due to the moped driver's fault, how will the moped driver compensate the victim?
Mopeds and scooters are popular across North Carolina, and seen frequently on and near the campuses of NC State and UNC Chapel Hill as these vehicles are fuel-efficient and budget-friendly. These often fit into students' tight budgets. However, opting not to obtain insurance coverage to 'save money' is often a poor choice. If the moped driver causes an accident, bodily injury coverage can be used toward victims' medical bills, while property damage coverage can be used toward repair costs to damaged property. Without insurance coverage, the at-fault party is generally personally responsible.
If you have questions about a moped accident in Raleigh or elsewhere in North Carolina, contact our accident attorneys for a free case evaluation. Our attorneys can explain how liability is determined in a crash, what you are legally entitled to, and how the injury claim process works in our state.
NOTE: The above information is as of this writing in July 2016. Legislation changes over time and individuals should confirm with the NCDOT and the NCDMV regarding state insurance and registration requirements for their unique vehicle(s).