North Carolina School Bus Law May Raise Fines
Posted on May 22, 2013
Drivers face hefty penalties if they pass a stopped school bus that is dropping off or picking up students. North Carolina school bus accidents have injured, and in devastating cases, also killed innocent children. As a response, last week the state legislature passed a bill that will make the fine for passing a stopped school bus $500. If passed into law, the new consequences will be:
- Minimum fine of $2,500 and charged with a felony if the driver hits a child.
- Mimimum fine of $5,000 and subject to other charges if the driver kills a child.
- Revocation of driver's license for a minimum of one year, with the potential for permanent revocation, if the driver has a history of repeat traffic violations.
North Carolina school bus injuries are often preventable if drivers follow the law. However, distracted driving and other forms of negligence often cause accidents. Our Raleigh injury lawyers handle school bus accident cases for parents on behalf of their injured children. Bus accidents fit into a unique area of law that not all attorneys are familiar with. Our lawyers will explain these laws and how they affect your particular case, then we will explain your options in regards to compensation, settlement negotiation or trial, and more. Initial consultations are always free and you can schedule one at 877-BRENT-ADAMS. Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter to hear the latest on new North Carolina laws that may affect your injury case.