Added Fines for Amusement Park Accidents in NC Pending
Posted on Apr 23, 2015
The North Carolina State Fair has accumulated a long list of ride injuries since it started decades ago. These ride accidents have injured fair-goers as well as fair employees. Now these accidents have prompted lawmakers to revisit how negligent ride operators are held accountable. Just a few weeks ago the House unanimously approved House Bill 39, which would create greater penalties for amusement park ride accidents in North Carolina. What would change?
- As of this writing, the fine for operating an unsafe ride in North Carolina is capped at a mere $1,000. If the bill passes into law, the fine would be capped at $10,000.
- For fatal ride accidents, state prosecutors would be granted the authority to charge a violator with willful or culpable homicide.
- Willful violation of safety protocol is currently classified as a Class 2 misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $10,000. If passed, the new provisions would classify the violation as a Class 1 misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $20,000.
- A new penalty provision is included in the bill that applies to cases of serious injury or death. These cases would become a Class E felony with a fine of up to $50,000.
If you are concerned about whether the new provisions will be retroactive, contact one of our injury attorneys for a complimentary case review. Our attorneys can explain how current and possible pending legislation might apply to your accident case.