Q How Long Do I Have to Wait for Workers' Comp Benefits in NC?
The length of time you are waiting for workers' compensation benefits in North Carolina to start may be affected by a few factors. The North Carolina Workers' Comp Act poses a seven-day waiting period during which no compensation benefits for time away from work are permitted.
Workers who lose more that one work day as a result of a workplace injury must go on NC workers' comp leave and receive weekly benefits.
According to the North Carolina Office of State Personnel, payments will only begin if the injured worker has missed more than 21 days due to the workplace injury. If the injured worker is out of work for more than 21 days, the compensation will be retroactive to the date of disability.
There may be factors unique to your workplace injury that are causing delays or denials of your claim. Schedule a free case evalulation with our Raleigh workers' comp lawyers to learn more.